Workspaces allow folders and documents to be compartmentalized, categorized, and easily shared with the correct people. They can be shared amongst users and teams via permission grants.

Workspaces are managed by organization admins. Organization admins have management access to all workspaces within their organization.

Both admin and non-admin users can access their assigned workspaces from the left hand panel in the homepage.  Admins however, also have access to an additional ALL WORKSPACES tab.

Summary of Content

Create a Workspace
Share a Workspace
      Share from within the Workspace
      Share from the Workspace list
Modify or Revoke Access to a Workspace
Delete a Workspace
The Organization Level Workspace
Understanding Teams and Workspaces
Related Resources

Create a Workspace

There are two ways for organization admins to create workspaces.

Option A: create a workspace directly from the workspace list page. 

  1. On your homepage’s navigation panel, click Workspaces to open the Workspace page.
  2. Click Create Workspace in the top right of the screen.
  3. Name your workspace.
  4. Type to add teams and/or members.
  5. For each team or member, select a permission type.
  6. [optional] Enter an email notification under Add a Message or uncheck Send an email notification
  7. Click Save

OR

Option B: create a workspace by creating a team and selecting to create a workspace for that team.

Share a Workspace

Permission grants on a workspace are hereditary; sharing a workspace will share everything inside of that workspace at the same level as the original grant. There are two possible ways to share a workspace.

Share from within the Workspace

  1. Open the workspace.
  2. Click the Share button located in the top right corner of the screen, to open the share modal.
  3. Type to add teams and/or individual members.
  4. Select a permission type for each team and/or member.
  5. [optional] Enter an email notification under Add a Message or uncheck Send an email notification
  6. Click Save.

Share from the Workspace list

  1. On your homepage’s navigation panel, click Workspaces to open the Workspace page.
  2. Click the vertical ••• menu next to the workspace you wish to share.
  3. Click Share to open the share modal.
  4. Type to add teams and/or individual members.
  5. Select a permission type for each team and/or member.
  6. [optional] Enter an email notification under Add a Message or uncheck Send an email notification
  7. Click Save.

Modify or Revoke Access to a Workspace

  1. Open the workspace’s Share modal from either it’s vertical ••• menu on the Workspace page or from the Share button on the individual workspace’s page. 
  2. Click to open the Who has Access tab.
  3. [optional] To select a new access/grant type, use the Access Type dropdown menu to the right of the team or member. 
  4. [optional] To revoke access completely, hover over the team or member. Then click the trash can icon that appears on the right side of the modal. 
  5. Click Save.

Delete a Workspace

When a workspace is deleted, any child folders or documents will be automatically moved into a folder in the deleter’s My Documents.

  1. On your homepage’s navigation panel, click Workspaces to open the Workspace page.
  2. Click the vertical ••• menu next to the workspace you wish to share.
  3. Click Delete.
  4. This will open the Confirm Deletion modal. Click Delete to confirm. 

The Organization Level Workspace

Every new organization is provided an organizational-level workspace by default. This workspace is accessible to all organization members.

Organization admins have the option to delete or restrict access to this workspace. Although this workspace was added by default, all management of the workspace can be conducted like any other workspace. 

Understanding Teams and Workspaces

Teams and workspaces have a many-to-many relationship. A team can be granted different levels of access to different workspaces, and multiple teams can be granted different levels of access to a single workspace.

This flexibility allows the structure of workspaces to be organization-dependent. For example, an organization might have a workspace for each of its teams. In addition, it might also have workspaces for each quarter of the year, shared with the relevant teams.  

Related Resources

Folder and Document Permissions
Data Permissions