Manage workbook page visibility (Beta)

๐Ÿšฉ

This is a public beta feature thatโ€™s subject to quick, iterative changes. As a result, the latest product version may differ from the contents of this document.

By default, workbook pages are visible to all users with permission to view, explore, or edit the workbook. You can change the visibility of individual pages to restrict access to specific workbook content.

This document describes Sigmaโ€™s page visibility options and explains how to customize the visibility of a particular page.

User requirements

The ability to manage workbook page visibility requires the following:

  • You must be assigned an account type with the Create, edit, and publish workbooks permission enabled.
  • You must be the workbook owner or be granted Can edit workbook permission.

Understanding page visibility

๐Ÿšง

Page visibility settings apply in View and Explore mode only. The workbook owner and any user granted Can edit permission for the particular workbook can access all pages in Edit mode, regardless of page visibility settings.

Page visibility icons

Page tabs display icons to indicate the current page visibility setting:

no iconIndicates the page is visible to all users.
Indicates the page is visible to select users or teams.
Indicates the page is hidden from all users.

Page visibility in workbook versions and secure embeds

Tagged versions

Tagged workbook versions inherit the page visibility settings saved to the workbook when the tag is applied. Therefore, a page can be accessible to a user in one version and hidden from the same user in another.

Secure embeds

Page visibility in secure embeds is determined by team settings. A page is only visible to an embed user when shown to the userโ€™s assigned team (via Show page to all users or Only show to select users or teams).

๐Ÿšง

When a secure embed user saves a copy of an embedded workbook, all pages are visible in the copy, regardless of page visibility settings in the original workbook.

Hide or unhide a page

Use the Hide page and Unhide page options to quickly update the page visibility for all users.

  1. Open a workbook in Edit mode.

  2. Locate the tab for the page you want to customize.

  3. Click the caret () in the tab to open the page menu, then select the available option:

    Hide page

    Hides page from all users accessing the workbook in View or Explore mode.

    Available when the page is currently visible to all users.

    Unhide page

    Shows page to all users accessing the workbook in any mode.

    Available when the page is currently hidden from all or select users and teams.

Customize page visibility

Use the Customize page visibility option to update the page visibility for all users or specific users and teams.

  1. Open a workbook in Edit mode.

  2. Locate the tab for the page you want to customize.

  3. Click the caret () in the tab to open the page menu, then select Customize page visibility.

  4. In the Customize Page Visibility modal, configure the page visibility:

    1. Click the Page visibility setting field and select an option from the dropdown:

      Hide page from all usersHides page from all users accessing the workbook in View or Explore mode.
      Show page to all users
      (default)
      Shows page to all users accessing the workbook in any mode.
      Only show to select users or teamsOnly shows page to selected users and teams. Hides page from remaining users accessing the workbook in View or Explore mode.
    2. If you selected Only show to select users or teams in step 4a, use the Select users field to search for and select applicable users and teams.

    3. Click Save to apply the page visibility change.