Configure chat history (Beta)

View as Markdown

This documentation describes one or more public beta features that are in development and available only to customers who meet certain conditions. For more information, contact your Account Executive.

Beta features are subject to quick, iterative changes; therefore, the current user experience in the Sigma service can differ from the information provided in this page.

This page should not be considered official published documentation until Sigma removes this notice and the beta flag on the corresponding feature(s) in the Sigma service. For the full beta feature disclaimer, see Beta features.

Before users can see and revisit past chat conversations with Sigma Assistant on the home page, an admin must turn on chat history for the organization.

Chat history is stored by Sigma, not in your data platform.

Requirements

  • You must be assigned the Admin account type.
  • Your organization must have granted Sigma storage rights for both inputs and outputs. If your organization only allows partial data storage, or none, chat history is currently turned off and cannot be turned on.

Limitations

  • There is currently no option to store chat history in your own storage service.
  • You cannot retain chat history indefinitely. The longest available retention period is 90 days.
  • Chat history is currently only stored for chat conversations with Sigma Assistant on the home page with Assistant or warehouse agents. Conversations with Sigma agents or Assistant in the workbook are not yet stored.

Configure chat history

To turn chat history on or off for your organization:

  1. Go to Administration > AI settings, then choose the Assistant tab.

  2. In the Chat history section, select Edit.

  3. To allow Sigma to store chat history, turn on the Chat history toggle. Otherwise, turn off the Chat history toggle.

  4. If you turned on chat history, choose how long to store the chat history data:

    • 30 days
    • 60 days
    • 90 days

    Chat storage is based on when the last message was sent in a chat conversation.

  5. Select Save.

When you turn off chat history, Sigma does not store new chat conversations. Chat conversations that were already stored are deleted when the retention period for the chat is reached.