Behavior differences for users in embedded content

View as Markdown

When you embed Sigma, embedded content and embed users have additional restrictions and some behavior differences compared with using Sigma directly, making it easier to manage the embedded experience and reduce the likelihood of unintended interactions.

This document summarizes the key differences.

Collaboration

  • If you allow editing in your embedded content, Live Edit is not supported. When an embed user edits embedded content, they can only see their changes in the draft. Other embed users, and internal users viewing the same workbook, don’t see those changes until the user publishes their draft changes.
  • By default, embed users can’t see or interact with other users, even if their account type includes the relevant permission. This blocks commenting, sharing documents, using shared views, and viewing scheduled exports created by other users. To enable these interactions, turn on user interactivity. See Manage embed user settings.

Exporting and sharing

  • Users in public embeds can only export to PNG or PDF. Users cannot export to raw data formats, such as Excel or CSV. For more details, see Create and manage a public embed.
  • For secure embeds, exporting to Slack, Microsoft Teams, or SharePoint requires both user interactivity and export settings to be turned on, and all embed users share the same connected Slack workspace or Microsoft organization. See Manage embed user settings.
  • Link sharing isn’t available for page or single-element embeds. See Configure a shareable link for an embed.