IMPORTANT: This document is specific to Sigma worksheets and dashboards. To learn about this topic for Sigma’s new Workbooks feature, please visit Share a Workbook.

Permission to access a Sigma document can be shared, modified or revoked by either the individual document’s owner or an organization admin. Worksheets and dashboards support two permission types: Can View and Can Edit

This article will dive specific into sharing worksheets and dashboards. To learn more about permissions in general, visit our documentation on folder and document permissions

Summary of Content

Permission Types
Share a Worksheet or Dashboard
Modify or Revoke Access
Respond to Request for Access to Content
Share Dashboard Drafts
Related Resources

Permission Types

Permission

Granted privileges on shared documents

Can View

Can Edit

  • All Can View privileges
  • Edit, publish, and share 
  • Can manage content, including the ability to delete, move, or rename.

 

Share a Worksheet or Dashboard

  1. Open your document's Share modal.
    Option A: Open the document, and
    click on the Share button in the top right corner of the screen.  If the report is not published, you will instead see a Publish button. Click Publish and then click Share.
    OR
    Option B:
    From a folder page, click to open the document's vertical ••• menu. Then click Share.
  2. Type to add teams and/or individual members.
  3. Select a permission type for each team and/or member.
  4. [optional] Enter an email notification under Add a Message or uncheck Send an email notification.
  5. Click Save to grant permission(s).

 

Modify or Revoke Access

  1. Open your document's Share modal.
    Option A: Open the document, and
    click on the Share button in the top right corner of the screen.  If the report is not published, you will instead see a Publish button. Click Publish and then click Share.
    OR
    Option B:
    From a folder page, click to open the document's vertical ••• menu. Then click Share
  2. Click to open the Who has Access tab.
  3. [optional] To select a new access/grant type, use the Access Type dropdown menu to the right of the team or member. 
  4. [optional] To revoke access completely, hover over the team or member. Then click the trash can icon that appears on the right side of the modal. 
  5. Click Save.

Respond to Request for Access to Content

If a user attempts to access your content and doesn't have permissions to do so, they can request access through the error page blocking their immediate access. This triggers a Request to Access email notification.

To respond to the Request for Access, do the following:

  1. In the email notification, click the Respond to the Request button.
    RequestPermissions_eNotif_Dashboard.png

  2. Sigma opens with the Share Dashboard/Worksheet modal, allowing you to view the current access requests. Optionally, click the permission drop-down menu to select the level of access the user should have.
    Note: The user cannot be granted access higher than what their account type allows.
    RequestPerms_ShareDashboard_Permission.png

  3. If desired, click Approve. If Approve is selected, the request is removed from the Share Dashboard/Worksheet modal, and the user is listed in the Who Has Access tab.
    RequestPerms_ShareDashboard_Approve.png
    Or, click Deny. If Deny is selected, the request is removed from the Share Dashboard/Worksheet modal. 
    RequestPerms_ShareDashboard_Deny.png

  4. Click Save or close the Share Dashboard/Worksheet modal. Your decision on the Request for Access to Content will save either way.
    RequestPerms_ShareDashboard_Save.png

Share Dashboard Drafts

Dashboard drafts can be shared internally before publication. 

To share your dashboard draft, copy the dashboard’s URL and send the link to your colleague(s). The URL’s draft parameter, and its associated id, will identify the correct draft state (ie  `:draft=<id>`).

Draft ids are instance specific. This means a new draft id is created with every edit action you make to a dashboard. If you make a change, copy the URL, and then make a second change, the original URL you copied will only reflect the first change. 

To ensure you are sharing the correct draft of your dashboard, be sure to copy the URL after you have made all of the intended changes.

Related Resources

Folder and Document Permissions
Share a Workbook

 

IMPORTANT: This document is specific to Sigma worksheets and dashboards. To learn about this topic for Sigma’s new Workbooks feature, please visit Share a Workbook.